Devoid Of True Emotion

Posted: December 17, 2011 in Poems
That look in your eyes, I can see what you’re thinking
Though try as I might, I can’t see the scheming…
I’m trapped in your web; I know that you’re dreaming
Of a new way to hurt me, you “love” when I’m screaming.
 
A smirk, a whisper and even more lies.
I guessed what had happened and part of me dies –
I remember the torment, the feeling of pain
As the tears fell, you barring the way,
The tone of your voice as I heard you that day…
 
Despite bottled screaming and all of the lies,
“I hate you, it’s over, I’d rather you died”
There’s no hesitation as you deliver the lines;
I heard you rehearse them, I saw all the signs.
You whisper the words to “soften the blow”;
Care not for my “feelings” – I already know.
Leave A Comment

