And Yet We Take The Blame…?

Posted: December 17, 2011 in Previous Rants

I hear it far too often; “it’s the kids nowadays – they’ve no respect”. More often than not, it’s the younger generations that are left with the blame. Be it the economy, lack of manners or the downfall of the environment… Looking back, I witnessed destruction of all three in a single moment.

I couldn’t help but wonder exactly what sort of person would think it acceptable. Maybe she didn’t think it wrong or disrespectful? I didn’t know what to say at first, I just stood and watched until my thoughts had settled. Admittedly, there wasn’t much else I could do, I was waiting for a bus… There she was, without a care in the world systematically emptying her pockets of even the smallest bits of litter whilst muttering incoherently – adding to the pile at her feet. Did she collect rubbish to offer to the environment?

I thought better of picking them all back up and refilling the plastic bag she chose then to empty as she rather randomly began to stare at me – I was caught off guard, a mild look of confusion battled the disgust on my face – what sort of person would do that? Instead I chose to clear my throat, it wasn’t necessary, but a lady in her late 50′s should know better.

Although it wasn’t quite the reaction I had hoped for, she did acknowledge the rubbish I’d politely pointed that she’d “dropped”, choosing instead to watch the wind pick it up and scatter it all with a smile. I was even more shocked to notice she’d begun to throw her money into the canal and then start spitting at the passing traffic…

This may not seem like odd behaviour to some, but to myself and the other passengers waiting at the bus stop that day it was definitely peculiar. Maybe the lady hadn’t noticed the bin that stood between us? I felt I should’ve done more to at least mention it. Maybe it was the look of utter disgust on her face when I had cleared my throat that stopped me from pursuing the topic, or possibly the shouting at us all that stilled our tongues. Who knows?

In retrospect, I was probably just as much to blame that day – short of shouting back, what could I have done? She’d probably continue anyway – I boarded the bus and left her to it; the woman clearly had no morals and I doubted she’d be interested in a quick lesson of etiquette…

Leave A Comment

