The Curse Of Hayfever

Posted: August 22, 2011 in Previous Rants

It hadn’t been a problem for quite a while. I thought I’d finally gotten over it. I once imagined it blissful to finally be free and not have to rely on the mostly ineffective remedies. I thought time would be the cure. Somehow I’d managed to cope on the recent “nice” days without too much bother – for a short while we’d all been granted relief from the downpours and depressing weather.

Today was one of those “nice” days – the sun was shining, it was warm and bright and there were very few clouds in the sky – it’s quite odd to admit, but I’ve always dreaded those “nice” days; most people appreciate a change and cheer up for a while, they’d wear “summery” clothes and it’d be oh so fantastic! But for some of us it’d be hell. I’d admit defeat and would routinely expect headaches, puffy eyes and a blocked yet runny nose – such is the Curse of Hayfever.

That day was different, I could still see! There was no headaches or the dryness and the itchy eyes that normally greeted me when I’d leave the house. And I could breathe! Without the shallow and itchy thoat that normally followed. A moment of bravery enabled me to smell the flowers in our garden without suffering! Was I finally free? The pollen count was high and I hadn’t yet taken any tablets – could this finally be it?

It was hard to explain, everything was so much fresher, much richer and more alive. That day I enjoyed everything. I was experiencing things most people take for granted – I didn’t realise my freedom would be so short lived…

It had to happen at the most inconvenient of times; when I was least prepared. It was horrible knowing I didn’t have any tablets to help. My eyes suddenly started to itch, and my throat soon began to burn. The worst part of it all was my suddenly unblocked nose, I had no tissues and no means of obtaining any. I was surrounded, trapped on a bus and in mid conversation when The Hayfever struck – what could I do? I tried to subtly hold my nose to avoid the awkwardness that would have otherwise ensued.

I wanted to avoid sneezing in public and did NOT want to look like a child who couldn’t help but dribble obscenities from their nose yet nor did I want to wipe my face on my sleeve – it’s not an attractive look for anybody. I quickly ended the conversation and tried to avoid sniffling. It was a difficult decision, but it was one I had to make. I chose the lesser of two evils and avoided eye contact hoping nobody could hear the sniffling. I had no choice but to endure the torment – Hayfever tricked me… It seems there’s no escaping the Curse.

Comments
  1. Hey! I figured it out! I’m on WordPress now, too! 😀

Leave A Comment

