Choose Wisely

Posted: July 25, 2011 in Previous Rants

We all know we should take extra precautions when faced with a situation we know will test us – the wisest of us know we should wear extra clothing when it’s cold and waterproofs or an umbrella to keep us dry when it’s raining. Looking back on that day; I don’t know why I didn’t plan ahead.

I was already having a bad day, I was cold and tired and couldn’t resist the opportunity to get myself a hot drink before getting the train back home. I hoped it’d keep me warm if nothing else. It soon turned out to be more trouble than it was worth. I hadn’t realised just how hot the drink would be until it scalded my throat and I’d stupidly relied on the lid staying intact.

I should’ve thrown the drink away after my first taste – it was horrible! Admittedly though, it was warming my hands up. I can’t remember why I continued to punish myself by drinking what tasted like chocolatey-lava – I suppose I just wanted to get rid of it. I was considering the irony when I spectacularly tripped on the pavement. My first thought was not “Ouch! Scalding-pain” but “Fantastic, I’ve made myself look like a fool in public!” I doubted things could get any worse when I realised I (somehow) still had hold of my hot chocolate.

There was an applause. I was surrounded by people actually laughing and clapping at my misfortune! “Oh this guy has just fallen over – he managed to keep hold of his drink though” It didn’t need saying – I knew they were mocking me. The lid had split and I’d spilled some down me. I was angry at myself for not paying attention – though I was somewhat relieved nobody thought me incapable of drinking something without pouring it all down my front – I had witnesses – I definitely tripped!

I hurried away and tried to clean myself up in the toilets – I soon realised there was no discreet method of hiding spilled hot chocolate on a white shirt, nor is there a proud way to wear a stained shirt. I probably should have worn waterproofs…

Leave A Comment

