Helpful Or Hypnotism? – Beware The Sales!

Posted: January 2, 2011 in Previous Rants

So the busiest time of the year is now over and we’ve all faced the tremendous traffic – the incredibly slow walkers and the ever dreaded horrible weather, though I’m still afraid – not of falling on the patches of ice, nor of getting stuck in traffic as the sales begin – I’m worried that I’m slowly changing and theres nothing I can do about it…

If you’ve ever been window shopping – or in some cases – just trying to kill some time by browsing the high street – chances are you’ve experienced “the annoyingly persuasive shopping assistant” at some point.

One minute you’re in another interesting-looking shop, just looking around with your friends at some completely pointless, overpriced junk – when out of nowhere a swarm of over friendly people “just trying to help” enthusiastically demonstrate and force feed you the “features” and “benefits” of everything any one of you lay your eyes on – almost robotically – and before you know it, you’ve spent an entire month’s wages and are walking out of the shop hands full, semi-oblivious or full of regret – whilst the shopworkers all smirk as you leave – another easy target…

It is of changing into such a person that I am afraid of – I notice far too late to do anything about that I too use such tactics to “clinch a sale”. Apparantly it’s a valuble skill to be able to easily persuade the innocent shopper; being able to naturally converse with random people – though I can’t help but feel a little guilty, it’s a subtle brainwashing… I have – I point out to myself, experienced it from both sides – I’m sure there’s something I could do, but I don’t want to sabotage my job – where would that get me? I’d wait for a sign – until then I suppose I can only hope I don’t complete the transition and become so robotic and as heartless as the rest.

Leave A Comment

